Elephant Memories (1991), Photo by Caroll Rosegg

about ping chong

Artistic Director Emeritus Ping Chong is an internationally acclaimed interdisciplinary artist, and founder of Ping Chong and Company. Since 1972, he created over 100 original works for the stage in New York City, and around the world. In 1992, Chong created the first Undesirable Elements production in an ongoing series of community-based oral history performances exploring culture and identity. Published works include The East West Quartet and a volume on Undesirable Elements. The first comprehensive volume on his body of work, The Interdisciplinary Theatre of Ping Chong: Exploring Curiosity and Otherness on Stage by Yuko Kurahashi, was released in 2019. Ping Chong is the recipient of two BESSIE awards, two OBIE awards, a Doris Duke Performing Artist Award, a Ford Foundation Art of Change Fellowship, and the 2014 National Medal of Arts.

Photo Credit: Chris Hartlove

Ping Chong was born in Toronto in 1946 and raised in the Chinatown section of New York City. He studied filmmaking and graphic design at the School of Visual Arts and the Pratt Institute. He began his theatrical career as a member of Meredith Monk's The House Foundation. He collaborated with her on several major works including The Travelogue Series and The Games, for which they shared the Outstanding Achievement in Music Theatre Award in 1986.

In 1972, Ping Chong gathered a group of artists at Meredith Monk’s loft in New York City to create Lazarus, his first independent theatre work. Since then, he has created over 100 major works for the stage. Over the years, he has expanded the range of his explorations to include video and visual arts installations. He is recognized as one of our country's most significant multidisciplinary artists.

Ping Chong and Bruce Allardice in front of La MaMa in 2022

Executive Director Emeritus Bruce Allardice and Ping Chong had an artistic partnership that spanned nearly 35 years. Both retired in 2022, upon the 50th anniversary of Ping’s career as a leading artist and theatrical innovator. They worked tirelessly to achieve and hone PCC’s vision of aesthetically rich, socially probing interdisciplinary theater that explores the interconnectedness of cultures and multifaceted identities in the U.S. and across the globe.

press quotations



Association of Performing Arts Presenters Award of Merit for Achievement in the Performing Arts


Ford Foundation Art of Change Fellow
Mary Miss Artist in Residency, American Academy in Rome


National Medal of Arts
Otto Rene Castillo Award for Political Theater


Falstaff Award for Best Director and Best Script Adaptation/Dramaturgy (Throne of Blood at Oregon Shakespeare Festival)


USA Prudential Fellow, USA Artists Foundation
NY Theatre Wire’s "Top Ten" Shows of the 2005-2006 Season (Cathay: Three Tales of China)


Honorary Doctorate of Human Letters, Kent State University


Peter Ivers Visiting Artist, Harvard University
Out Magazine’s OUT100 Award


NY Theatre Wire’s "Top Ten" Shows of the 2000-2001 Season (Secret History)


OBIE Award for Sustained Achievement of Direction


Bessie Award for Outstanding Creative Achievement (SlutForArt)
After Dark Award (Undesirable Elements/Chicago)
Honorary Doctorate of Fine Arts, Cornish College
AMagazine’s A100 Award - 100 most influential Asian Americans of the decade
NY Theatre Wire’s "Top Ten" Shows of the 1998-1999 Season (Kwaidan)


Bellagio Fellow
VITA Award for Lifetime Achievement, Stony Brook
UNIMA-USA Citation of Excellence in the Art of Puppetry (Kwaidan)


Theater Communications Group ABSOLUT STAGES Award


National Endowment for the Arts Playwrights Fellowship


Yomiuri Theatrical Award (Gaijin)


Wynton Chair, University of Minnesota


Bessie Award for Sustained Achievement in the Performing Arts
McKnight Fellow


NEA Choreographer Fellowship
Bronze Star, Sacramento International Film and Video Festival


McKnight Fellow
NYFA Artist’s Fellowship (Choreography)


Guggenheim Fellowship
Maharam Design Award


NEA Visual Arts Fellowship


Grand Prize, Toronto Video Festival


Villager Award


OBIE Award