Staff and Board


Ping Chong

Ping Chong

Founder and Artistic Director

As lead generative artist, Ping creates new interdisciplinary works and Undesirable Elements productions; and mentors and consults on projects by the next generation of associated artists.

Bruce Allardice

Executive Director

Bruce identifies and sets the organization’s strategic goals. He is the lead producer on all of Ping Chong’s interdisciplinary and Undesirable Elements projects.

Jane Jung

Managing Director

Jane oversees general management, financial, general communications, and operational areas of the organization. She plays a key role in strategic planning and oversees the Creative Fellowship program.

Sara Zatz

Associate Director

Sara is a long-time artistic collaborator. She leads the community engaged Undesirable Elements projects and associated training in the methodology. She is the primary Development manager for the organization. Sara is Co-writer and Co-director on Generation Rise.

Christina Bixland

Education Director

Christina directs and coordinates implementation of arts education programs in elementary, middle and high schools across New York City, and liaises with partner organizations on arts education collaborations. She supervises our corps of Teaching Artists and is the Co-writer and Co-director on Voices of Orange.

Nadia Kim

Operations Assistant

Nadia supports the communications, artistic, education and administrative areas of the organization.

Board of Directors

Amy Chin, President
Arts Consultant

Deirdre Valente, Vice President
Vice-President, Lisa Booth Management, Inc

Lillian Cho, Treasurer
Senior Project Manager, Hester Street

Miranda Schiller, Secretary
Partner, Securities Litigation Corporate Governance Weil, Gotshal & Manges

Cathy Barbash
President, Barbash Arts Consulting Services

Kim Chan
Deputy Director, Advancement, National Sawdust

Ping Chong, Artistic Director
Founder and Artistic Director, Ping Chong and Company

Additional Staff

Kian Ross, Financial Administrator
El Chen, Visiting Research Fellow, September 2021 - May 2022
Kevin Duggan, Development Consultant
Blake Zidell and Associates, Press Agent 
Patricia Taylor, Financial Manager
Mary Sormeley, Accountant

Associated Artists 2021–2022

Ping Chong and Company is a generative organization centered on collaboration and community engagement. The company incubates new work with and from a broad cohort of multidisciplinary and multigenerational artists, and is committed to supporting emerging artists of color. Many creative collaborators have been mentored by Ping Chong, or through our training programs.

In addition to the below artists, long-time artistic collaborators include Michael Matthews, Jesca Prudencio, Michael Rohd, Talvin Wilks, Meredith Monk, Jeffrey Rose, Ryan Conarro, and Muna Tseng.

During the early years of Fiji Theater Company, artistic collaborators were Louise Smith, John Fleming, Jeannie Hutchins, Roger Babb, Larry Malvern, and Ric Oquita.

Kirya Traber

Co-writer and Co-director, Generation Rise

Jaime Sunwoo

Writer and Director, Specially Processed American Me

Kristina Varshavskaya

Production Coordinator and Filmmaker, Chinoiserie Redux

Teaching Artists 2020–2021

Ping Chong and Company Teaching Artists lead in-school artistic residencies and community workshops using peer interview techniques, writing exercises, and drama activities to explore themes of identity, place, and belonging, and to introduce theatrical tools for self- and community-based reflection. For more about Teaching Artist training, click here.

Raquel Almazan
Irisdelia Garcia
AnJu Hyppolite
Kenya Bullock
Erin Anderson
Olivia Xing
Jessica Cortez
Jaime Sunwoo
Natalia Durango
Hala Shah
Stuart Myers
Talya Chalef
Courtney Surmanek
Moana Niumeitolu
Eric Aviles
Rudy Ramirez
Nicola Murphy
Mieke D
Asuka Derfler
Matt Kinsey
Carly McCollow